jump to navigation

Okay, We’re Off And Running January 30, 2008

Posted by breakingranks in Uncategorized.
trackback

I sense the anxiety some of you are feeling, but I assure you that this newfangled stuff will become much easier as we go.

Once you have all arrived at an attribute, I will publish all of them here so that you can readily see what your classmates are doing. This will come in handy down the line.

Now, keep your attribute in mind as we go back and reread “Prufrock.” We will probably work a little bit with it this week again before moving on to “The Hollow Men.” You may find as we work through the Eliot (and get into a little Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, and Eugene O’Neill) that your attribute is intrinsically connected to one or more other attributes that someone else is considering. Start thinking about having that discussion with each other.

Feel free to leave me questions or concerns here. I’ll likely start making the rounds to your blogs towards the end of this week to see what’s up.

Oh, and one last thing. Be sure that your level of diction is appropriate as you start to move towards academic discussion. Your intro posts can be casual and in your own idiom, as it were, but remember that this is writing that you would normally be turning in to me in MLA-formated papers.

Ms. Baz

Comments»

1. kyle91 - January 30, 2008

ms. baz, this is great. it’s a whole new way of learning and a great use of modern technology. good idea

2. You're welcome! - January 30, 2008

Thanks, Kyle. I hope you all get a lot out of it and have fun in the process. And there’s plenty of provocative stuff to read, see, and watch. You guys thought O’Connor was messed up, just wait!

3. mikeboss - January 31, 2008

Yeah, but the difference is O’Connor actually IS messed up. This hasn’t gotten there yet, but the awkwardness level is still the same.

4. Ms. Baz - January 31, 2008

Well, let’s put it this way. What we’re going to read by Tennessee Williams and Eugene O’Neill really does make O’Connor look, um, healthy in comparison. The Eliot stuff, while not as grotesque, is certainly fairly grim in its assessment of the human condition. We won’t see in Eliot the interpersonal abuses we’ve seen in O’Connor’s fiction, though, you’re right. Real pathology will be on rather gaudy display, however, in A Streetcar Named Desire by Williams and Desire Under the Elms by O’Neill (she says with a macabre chuckle).

5. bgemme - January 31, 2008

I like this way of learning. It takes our minds to a whole different level of thinking. It is sort of hard when writing the blogs though. You know exactly what you are going to say and have it all planned out, but then when you actually go to type it, your mind just blanks. But, these assignments are still awesome.

6. Ms. Baz - January 31, 2008

Ben, that happens to the best of writers. Just start plugging away. You can always edit what you write on your own blog (!), so you have more than one chance to get it the way you want it. It’s not a one-shot deal.

Perhaps a little brainstorming the analog way–paper and pen–will help you organize your thoughts on where to start. Have at it!

7. Boss - February 1, 2008

Let’s say this much: I get my spunk from a friend called Schweppes, as I show on my page. It’s my “performance enhancer”, if you would give it a name 😉

But yeah I’m all about the voices.

8. meemsies - February 1, 2008

Cynthia, she’s a really cool dancer! Cynthia, boogie to the groove now!

9. meemsies - February 1, 2008

Sorry, I’ll be more focused now. Are we going to try to connect our attributes with the readings we’ll be doing in class, or are we going to also try to find some of our own connections?

10. Ms. Baz - February 1, 2008

Meem, expland beyond the class. In other words, explore the studio space. The more cow bell, the better.

11. jv06 - February 1, 2008

Yeah, Meem, EXPLAND beyond the class.

12. meemsies - February 1, 2008

Umm.. yeah, I’ll be sure to expland…….. -________-

13. Ms. Baz - February 1, 2008

Even teachers make typos. I could go back, if I were petty and small-minded, and fix that, but I won’t. Do you know this little bit of blog shorthand? pfltpflptlpflt

14. meemsies - February 5, 2008

I was only teasing. hmmm pfltpflptlpflt ?!?!?!?!??!? I don’t know what that means.. =[ I just sat here for about 2 minutes trying to figure it out and now I give up.

15. Dipa - February 6, 2008

OK so you all need to stop with the abbreviations! Those of us who are true “digital immigrants” – more like digital dinosaurs – really do not understand. Mr. Boss has just helped me in study to understand how all of this is working. I have looked at some of your blogs and I am truly impressed. This is incredible! How can I use this in math?


Leave a comment